LibGuides: BEd Teacher Education: Databases

Start here: Recommended databases for BEd Teacher Education students

Start with EBSCO Education Source and ProQuest Education (below) and then check out the others on this page.

EBSCO Education Source The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals.
ProQuest Education Education Database includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
PE Matters The Association for Physical Education (afPE) is the PE Subject Association in the UK. CONTACT LIBRARY FOR USERNAME AND PASSWORD.

Others useful databases to get started with are below. A full list of available databases is opposite.

Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies offers systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world.
Early Years Educator Online The EYE website is a fantastic new resource for early years professionals looking for best practice advice, activity ideas and research-led features.
Human Kinetics Library The Human Kinetics Library is built around a mission to increase the knowledge, enhance the performance and improve the health and fitness of all people around the globe through authoritative information about physical activity and sport. The platform features a growing collection of cross-searchable ebooks and videos from the world’s leading educational publisher for fitness, exercise, coaching and sport.
SAGE Premier Journals Sage Premier - publishes 909 journals in the social sciences, humanities and life sciences many in full-text.
SPORTDiscus SPORTDiscus is the leading bibliographic database for sports and sports medicine research. It includes records from leading sports medicine journals, books, dissertations and more.

Help with literature searching

All academic databases available to you as a Stranmillis student: (abstract and full-text)

Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies Bloomsbury Education and Childhood Studies offers systematic and comprehensive coverage of education and childhood studies around the world.
Digital Education Research Archive (DERA) - UCL The IOE UK Digital Education Repository Archive (DERA) is a digital archive of documents published electronically by government and other relevant bodies in the areas of education, training, children and families. The IOE library has always collected this material in both print and electronic format. However the increasing number of publications that are available in electronic only format, and the problem of broken links and disappearing documents concerns us greatly. Our aim is the permanent preservation of all electronic publications within scope. Already well used with over 200,000 unique visitors per year we anticipate this will become a nationally recognised and valued resource for researchers worldwide. Our aim is to create a coherent fully searchable digital archive in our specialist subject areas. We are committed to making it permanently and freely accessible to all.
DOAB (Directory of Open Access Books) The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) DOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
EBSCO Education source The world's largest and most complete collection of full-text education journals.
EBSCO GreenFILE GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment.
EBSCO SPORTDiscus This bibliographic database covers key areas of sports medicine and related fields. SPORTDiscus is ideal for researchers studying fitness, health and sport studies.
EBSCO Teacher Reference Center Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) ERIC is widely used by students, researchers, faculty members, and others who are responding to course requirements or developing reports for their work
EYE Online The EYE website is a fantastic new resource for early years professionals looking for best practice advice, activity ideas and research-led features.
Human Kinetics Library The Human Kinetics Library is built around a mission to increase the knowledge, enhance the performance and improve the health and fitness of all people around the globe through authoritative information about physical activity and sport. The platform features a growing collection of cross-searchable ebooks and videos from the world’s leading educational publisher for fitness, exercise, coaching and sport.
JSTOR Ireland collection The project provides online access to a comprehensive, multi–disciplinary digital library of research materials relating to Ireland, spanning the 18th century to present.
ProQuest Education Education Database includes over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education.
Royal Shakespeare Company Collection Alexander Street Press - The Royal Shakespeare Company Collection offers high-definition recordings of The Bard’s dramatic canon, featuring the world’s best Shakespearean actors and directors, along with supplemental teaching materials to help students engage more deeply with the material and enhance the overall learning experience.
SAGE Premier Journals Sage Premier - publishes 909 journals in the social sciences, humanities and life sciences many in full-text.
Taylor & Francis journals online Limited full text access to Taylor & Francis journals online.

Can't find the full text of the article you want? Then check out the information on inter-library loans on this page.

A-Z list of Database Collections

A-Z list of Database Collections

BEd Teacher Education: Databases

Accessing Stranmillis databases

Start here: Recommended databases for BEd Teacher Education students

Help with literature searching

All academic databases available to you as a Stranmillis student: (abstract and full-text)

A-Z list of Database Collections